About Morrow FUMC

Mission Statement

Morrow First United Methodist Church is a community of faith with a passion for Jesus Christ and all people through an active ministry of intentional and authentic evangelism that glorifies God’s call for the church’s future. This passion is demonistrated through active Worship, Witness, Giving, Serving, Teaching and Study.
The mission of the United Methodist is to make disciples of Jesus Christ through the transformation of the world.
It is enacted by:
  • Striving to win souls for Christ;
  • Providing help to those in need;
  • Promoting Christian Fellowship
 All activities of Morrow First United Methodist Church are dedicated to the glory of God under the guidance of the Holy Spirit.

Our Staff

Rev. Nelson Furtado, Jr.

Rev. Nelson Furtado, Jr.

Senior Pastor

Rev. Nelson Furtado is a native of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, where he grew up, met his wife, and received his call to ministry. Before answering his call to ministry Rev. Furtado was an attorney and practiced law in Rio de Janeiro and Sao Paulo.

Rev. Furtado is a Candler School of Theology graduate with a Master’s in Divinity. He is pursuing his Doctorate in Ministry through Wesley Theological Seminary in Washington – DC.

Nelson is passionate about discipleship and helping people to use their unique God-given gifts. He also champions diversity in the local church and best practices for churches seeking to reflect the kingdom of God on earth as it is in heaven. Nelson has been heavily involved in training and cohorts focusing on church revitalization, multiethnic ministries, and church and community engagement.

Rev. Furtado currently serves on the board of the Hispanic-Latino committee and at the Standing Rules Committee of the North Georgia Annual Conference.

Nelson loves meeting new people, playing the acoustic guitar, practicing Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, and cooking Brazilian barbecue, which is the best barbecue in the world!

Nelson and his wife, Michelly Furtado, have been married for nine years. Michelly is a Portuguese and Literature teacher specializing in psychopedagogy and special needs education. Nelson and Michelly have a seven-year-old daughter named Sophia.

Cora Johnson

Cora Johnson

Office Administrator

Cora has worked as an Administrative/Office Assistant for the last 20 years with organizations such as Clayton State University, Morrow and Community Gardens of Henry County, McDonough. 

Her family church is Bethel UMC in Stockbridge.Ga.

Cora is a member of Turning Point Church in McDonough where she serves on the Dream Team, Hospitality Team, Events Team and as the DT Training and Development Point Leader.  As a small group leader at TPC, Cora teaches Tech Assist,a computer and technology class focusing on MS Office, Google Drive, and overcoming the fear of technology.  Cora loves in her spare time to read sci-fi and fantasy novels and tutor people who need computer or social media assistance.

Teri Rodgers

Financial Secretary

Brett Boggus

Director of Music & Worship

Lucy Stembridge

Church Accompanist

Tracey Holland

Tracey Holland


Tracy Holland has served as part-time custodian at Morrow First United Methodist Church for over 20 years. He served for four years from 1988-1992 and for 15 years from 1998-2013. He returned in January 2015 as part-time custodian at MFUMC.

He has been a full-time custodian for both Clayton County Public Schools and the Henry County Board of Education since 1983. Currently, he is at Arnold Elementary School in Clayton County where he has been Custodian for two years.

Tracy is active in his church and enjoys his hobbies, which include football, basketball, bowling, and pool.

Tracy and his wife Susan reside in Jonesboro, Ga. He is a member of Three Point Bible Church in Jonesboro, Ga.

Jamie Bales


Jamie Bales and her assistants prepare and serve a variety of meals for Wednesday Night Fellowship Hour and for other special meetings held at the church.

Our History

Church History
  • 1800’s:
  • 1865 Brush Arbor – served by circuit and lay preachers. Named “Arbor Place”
  • 1870 Williams Chapel Methodist Episcopal Church built
  • 1881 Williams Chapel replaced by white frame building
  • 1900’s:
  • 1930 Erected brick building on Old Rex Morrow Road. Renamed, “Morrow Methodist Church”
  • 1967 Present building completed. Named, “Morrow United Methodist Church” in 1968
  • 1969 Fellowship Hall Built
  • 1973 Added an Education Wing and expanded the parking lot
  • 1997 Stained glass windows installed in the sanctuary. Major renovations made to church grounds and facilities
  • 2000’s:
  • 2000 Name changed to “Morrow First United Methodist Church, Inc.”
  • 2000 Storage room added to Fellowship Hall
  • 2006 Began a two-phase investment plan to Retain Sacred Valuable Property (RSVP), our inherited responsibility to maintain our buildings and grounds for posterity.
  • 2008 and beyond:
  • To fulfill the first words of the church’s Mission Statement: “Morrow First United Methodist Church is a community of faith with a passion for Jesus Christ and all people” through a ministry of intentional and authentic evangelism that glorifies God’s call for the church’s future.”
Pastors of Morrow First UMC
1929-1929          Rev. H. Harold Dillard
1941-1944          Rev. William A. Tyson, Jr.
1944-1945          Rev. Charles l. middlebrook
1945-1947          Rev. Peden Gene Curry
1949-1951          Rev. R. Neal Windom
1951-1952          Rev. Lloyd W. Jackson
1952-1953          Rev.  Clyde A. Blackstock
1955-1957          Rev. Charles J. Grilhe
1957-1962          Rev. Ray Melear
1962-1963          Rev. James M. Varner
1963-1964          Rev. Louie F. Huckaby
1964-1970          Rev. D. Randall Williamson
1968-1970          Rev. Dr. J. Mike Cordle
1970-1974          Rev. Emory R. Brackman
1972-1977          Rev. Odelle C. Jordon
1974-1977          Rev. Orian J. Hunt and William R. Childs (Minister of Youth)
1977                   Rev. C. Dean Milford and David B. Jones (Assoiciate Minister) 
1980-1982          Rev. E. Fredrick Maeser, Jr. (Associate Minister) 
1982-1987          Rev. Dr. Eugene T. Drinkard
1987-1991          Rev. J. Sanford McDonald
1985-1988          Rev. Trinka Kittle (Minister of Education)
1988-1989          Rev. Trinka Kittle (Associate Minister) 
1989-1991          Rev. William F. Thomas ll (Associate Pastor)
1991-1995          Rev. M. Wayne Fears, Sr.
1995-1998          Rev. Jim Higgins
1997-1998          Rev. Steve Chenoweth (Minister of Youth and Visitation)
1996-2000          Rev. Jim Welch (Associate Pastor)
1998-2001          Rev. Mac Paterson
2001-2007          Bill Jackson
2007-2015          Rev. Dr. Ed Judy
2015-2019          Rev. Luis Ortiz
2019-Present      Rev. Dr. Karen Lyons
Download Today

Morrow First United Methodist Church
Mobile App

Stay up-to-date
Listen to sermons on the go
Access signups right away
Give with ease




5985 Jonesboro Rd
Morrow, GA 30260

Worship With Us

Sundays at 11:00am